Hall of Fame




Wyoming’s newspapers have served as the heart of the state’s towns since its days as a territory, often being built securely in the center of the community. Their coverage of daily activities and events both locally and from around the country and globe continue to help prepare their readers to be informed and knowledgeable members of society.

The men and women honored by the WPA Foundation Hall of Fame for their significant contributions to Wyoming’s newspaper industry are named below. Each has been selected for induction based on their nomination by members of the industry and a review of their careers by a WPA Foundation Hall of Fame committee. The publishers, editors, ad directors and others found here represent the very best qualities of Wyoming newspaper people.


Wyoming Press Association Foundation

Hall of Fame Members

Listed by year of induction



Michael Sellett, publisher, Jackson Hole News&Guide


Pat Schmidt, publisher, Thermopolis Independent Record


Joe McGowan, bureau chief, Associated Press


Joe De Barthe, founder, Buffalo Bulletin


Mike and Pat Lindsey, publishers of numerous Wyoming newspapers


Nancy Shelton, Wyoming Press Association director


Robin Hurless, Casper Star-Tribune publisher


William C. Deming, Wyoming Tribune-Eagle publisher


J. Douglas Reeves, Wyoming Tribune-Eagle business manager


Dick Perue, Saratoga Sun publisher

J.E. Hanway, Natrona County Tribune publisher

Bill Hosokawa, Heart Mountain Sentinel editor


Diane Bonner, Powell Tribune

Asa Mercer, author, "Banditti of the Plains"


Francis Brammar, Wyoming Tribune-Eagle photographer

Jim Hicks, Buffalo Bulletin publisher

Robert Combs Warner, University of Wyoming photography instructor


Bob Peck, Riverton Ranger publisher

Ted O'Melia, Rawlins Daily Times, Northern Wyoming Daily News publisher

Cora Wanamaker, first woman publisher in Wyoming, Rocket-Miner


Wallace Biggs, Wyoming Press Association manager

Chuck Harkins, Casper Star-Tribune sports editor

Fred McCabe, Jackson Hole Guide publisher


Milton Chilcott, Sheridan Press publisher

Bruce Kennedy, founder of Sage Publishing

Tracy McCraken, Wyoming State Tribune, Wyoming Eagle publisher

Phil McAuley, Casper Star-Tribune reporter/editor;

Roy Peck, Riverton Ranger publisher





The Milton Chilcott Award is named after Milton Chilcott, the former publisher of The Sheridan Press who never shied away from court battles to make sure that public information remained available to the public. His battles led to landmark decisions that helped clarify and define Wyoming's government transparency laws.

Chilcott was the first to receive the award created in his honor in the mid 1980s. Since then, it has been awarded to only five others for their extraordinary efforts to make sure citizens have access to public information.


Wyoming Press Association


Milton Chilcott Award


Listed by year of induction



Jim Angell, former WPA Executive Director


Bruce T. Moats, WPA Attorney


Ann Turner, publisher of Gillette News-Record


Jim Wood, Wyoming Newspapers, Inc.



Ron Franscell, former publisher